Red Enamel Brooch

Red enamel broach

For about two years I had a large red metal piece of road sign hanging on a nail in my bathroom.

I couldn’t tell you why I picked it up from the road, or what I wanted to do with it, but I knew that I found it an immensely pleasing object.

In my enameling class this week, I recreated my prize in miniature, and as a functional broach.

I loved the thought process- how to create the weathered and scuffed appearance of my roadside treasure in fresh copper and enamel.

Thanks to Matt Benton at Bristol School of Art, I now appear to have become a contemporary jeweller!  I feel very proud.

Leave a Reply

